Nine NHS Seniors Named Semifinalists in the 2014 National Merit Scholarship Program

David B. Bobbitt, Erin E. England, Brian M. Fields, Meredith A. Glaze, Anna M. Herrera, Cody J. McWilliams, Milbrey A. Parke, Morgan J. Ringel and Alise M. Snyders were among the approximately 16,000 Semifinalists in the 59th annual National Merit Scholarship Program.  These academically talented high school seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 8,000 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $35 million that will be offered next spring.

“We are very proud to have a record number of talented National Merit Semifinalists representing Niceville High School,” said NHS Principal Rodney Nobles.

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation is a not-for-profit organization that operates without government assistance.  It was established in 1955 specifically to conduct the annual National Merit Scholarship Program.  Scholarships are underwritten by NMSC with its own funds and by approximately 440 business organizations and higher education institutions that share NMSC’s goals of honoring the nation’s scholastic champions and encouraging the pursuit of academic excellence.  Students qualify for the National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the PSAT during their junior year of high school.

Category: Academics , Recognition , Scholarships , Senior Info , Slider